Rudely awakened/ashakened

24 Jul

Another earthquake shook me awake this morning but not enough for my poor brain to register that anything bad was happening so fell blissfully back to sleep having slept very badly over the last few days as every quiver I felt jolted me back awake thinking the worst was going to happen. Craig didn’t even wake up which is a good sign. As I work for the Earthquake Commission I get emails of every earthquake felt in the country for information – when I got into work on Monday I had 163 emails! Things seems to be settling down thank goodness but people are still very rattled. Today was the first day at work where the building didn’t shake so hopefully that’s the end of it and things can get back to normal!

Having said that, as the royal baby was born the other day, Wellington Port put on a 21 gun salute in celebration. When everyone’s nerves are shot to pieces after the storms and earthquakes, hearing gun fire wasn’t the most reassuring thing in the world!

Any thoughts?

